ATTA LARYEA

image

ATTA LARYEA

EPISODE 5 -Finale

“A special world for you and me
A special bond one cannot see
It wraps us up in its cocoon
And holds us fiercely in its womb.

Its fingers spread like fine spun gold
Gently nestling us to the fold
Like silken thread it holds us fast
Bonds like this are meant to last.

And though at times a thread may break
A new one forms in its wake
To bind us closer and keep us strong
In a special world, where we belong.” Atta Laryea recited Sheelagh Lennon’s poem to Naa.

This seemed to be too much for her,as she kissed him on his lips.

“Atta Laryea I’m about to tell you something which you will find difficult to believe, but I crave your honest understanding not to have any bad perception about me. Would you mind if I call you just Unco Laryea?,”
She asked.

“Naa please feel free to tell me anything because nothing will change what I feel for you. You can call me whatever you want to, my dear”, for me it seems we are to be in love with each other, Atta Laryea replied.

“Unco I just want you to know that am in love with you.  I know it’s strange but I have never felt anything of such as I do now, even though my parents really love me. I wished we had met long ago, but things always happen on their own, however, I can’t hide my feelings for you.

I only have a couple of days to left on my calendar, and then I will vacate this world. “

Atta Laryea’s face changed upon hearing her last statement.
“What are you talking about Naa?, I don’t understand, please explain yourself further. Why are you vacating this world?” He asked curiously.

“Unco Laryea, what you are about hearing will tear you apart. I’m HIV POSITIVE “

“Eei, how did you get it, were you born with it or you were infected through unprotected sex? Please tell me, my heart aches so much, don’t do this to me. Am in love with you dearly”, Atta Laryea asked, sobbing.

“Atta Laryea, if you love me then please calm down and listen to me. This is the best thing we can do to shield the love we have for each other.

When I was in Form four, I had an accident on my way home from school, it was a terrible one, but I managed to survive with minor injuries. My driver was terribly injured and I offered to help drag him out of the car as there were no people around at that time.  Unknowing to me, he had the HIV virus, which got transferred to me as I tried pulling him out. His blood spilled on my injured leg which has resulted in this”.

Naa couldn’t control her tears as she narrated it. Atta Laryea, on the other hand, was so shocked by what he had heard. After a couple of minutes of silence, Atta Laryea stood up, reached out into his pocket for his handkerchief, and wiped away the tears on Naa’s face.

“Naa my dear, you need not worry or cry again. It was through an accident which you unfortunately got infected. I want you to have a change of attitude and emotions henceforth, because, I am going to be with you through this till the very end.

Moreover, there are many people who have the virus but are living healthy. Truly, I wouldn’t have known that you had the virus if you hadn’t told me. You look healthy and i hope you continue to remain the same, because I want you to be a living example and motivation to other people who are infected with the virus. Please I know you need love in this situation and that’s exactly what I’m about to offer you from today, unconditionally. “

Naa was startled to hear this from Atta Laryea. This made her so happy and brought confidence into her being. Soon afterwards, Naa and Atta Laryea’s parents arrived with food and fruit juices.  They were happy to see Atta Laryea and Naa together.

After some time of laughter and cracking of jokes, Naa called for their attention.

“Our dear parents, we have something to share with you, but that will be done by my sweetheart, Unco Laryea, as Atta Laryea stood up smiling.

“I am happy to announce to you that I would want to be with Naa all my life irrespective of her condition. I am deeply in love with her and she also loves me more. Even though this sounds strange to you, we only plead for your understanding. I want us to be a difference in our society. We need to let them know that people with HIV/AIDS can have better lives. They can fulfill their potentials, and that’s what I have agreed to do, to show Naa the love she needs, in order to have a normal life. These people deserve a better life”. Atta Laryea said.

Their parents begun to clap at the speech they had just heard from Atta Laryea . It seemed both Atta Laryea’s parents knew about Naa’s condition as they embraced each other.

So many things had just happened in just a day. Everyone was happy.

As they were in the ward,  Nii Yemo, Atta Laryea’s younger brother and Naa MoMo,Naa’s sister entered holding hands together. It was really a family love affair. Everyone was so much happy. Destiny had brought them together.

Atta Laryea and Naa got married later, and started a foundation to promote education on HIV / AIDS nationwide. Atta Laryea and Naa happily lived together and gave birth to three beautiful and healthy children.

THE END…

LET’S SHOW LOVE AND COMPASSION TO PEOPLE LIVING WITH HIV AIDS

Thanks to all my wonderful readers.

By :Nii Adjetey Cleland
Facebook : Nii Adjetey Cleland
Twitter : @macgillcleland

Leave a Reply

